Viaggiare!

FullSizeRender(8) FullSizeRender(9) FullSizeRender(10) FullSizeRender(12) FullSizeRender(6)

leather jacket-Rock and Republic/leather leggings-Jessica Simpson/white converse heels-DSW/black beanie-Candie’s

Ciao, fashion lovers!

In case you don’t know Italian very well or at all (like me), “viaggiare” means journey. Life has been hectic and not to sound so corny but can I say things have been a journey lately? I feel like I’m trying to do everything all at once and I’m crossing my fingers that it all works out.

I just went to my school’s fashion networking night where you are forced to mingle with fashion companies and woo them with your talents and/or skills. Which all sounds great unless you are an introvert like me and the thought of going up to important people and introducing yourself sounds like it will be physically impossible.

Surprisingly, it was not impossible and I actually got business cards and follow ups! Whooo! Sometimes you really have to go outside of your comfort zone and shockingly it doesn’t always go awful. Who knew? (Although my palms were sweating and I felt like throwing up a majority of the time that I was talking to everyone)

Lately all this talk of going into the fashion industry has got me thinking seriously about the path I want to take after I graduate from college. The fashion industry (and every other industry) is quickly adapting with social media obviously on the rise.

And since the fashion industry is changing, customers don’t have a reason to run to the store because we can get everything online without ever leaving our beds or talking to anyone.

So how do you stand out? What can retailers take away from this? What can I do?

Customer service is everything. Make it an experience. Brand yourself.

Who are you and what are people getting out of it? Why should anyone listen to anything you have to say and what do you want others to take away from meeting you?

“A personal brand is the total experience of someone having a relationship with who you are and what you represent as an individual; as a leader. Think about what that means to you. Let it simmer. Ask yourself and then a close friend-what is the total experience of having a relationship with you like?”

Well the 4 things I would want others to experience being my close friend:

  1. I always try to be honest not just with my friends and family but with others too. Obviously saying “I’ll never lie again” is a lie in itself, but I hope that the people around me know that I’m not going to tell them something I don’t believe in or wouldn’t want.
  2. In the same vein, I can be an opinionated person and I enjoy hearing other people’s opinions, thoughts, and what they think. Doesn’t mean we will always agree but I like to hear about it. I hope my friends will know that they can be open with me about their opinions even if I have a completely different one.
  3. Being passionate about something is why you will drag yourself out bed and do something out of your comfort zone. Being passionate is why you try so damn hard not just to be better, but to be the best. Being passionate is why you feel so strongly about something no matter what anyone says. I’m a big believer in expressing yourself and always being curious about everything.
  4. My choices are not your choices and vise versa. The decisions I make are not always going to be something everyone agrees with, but as long as someone stands by your side along the way it will make it all worth it. I’ll always support the people I love to better themselves, because we are all on a journey to discover ourselves.

Who am I?

Well I’m not always sure. I’m awkward and introverted and I really hate sweet tea.

I like to draw, create outfits, read, write, and long car rides (more specifically, I like to look out the windows)

My favorite courses in college right now are Fashion Forecasting and Collaborative Fashion Production. I love learning about all the different techniques that is possible in fashion such going behind the scenes of making clothes. Everyone always pictures some fashion designer whisking away beautiful outfits and someone somewhere somehow produces it. But in Collaborative Fashion Production, we learn not only how to make the garments, but the business behind it. Do you want your business to made in a progressive bundle system or a modular production system? Which one is better, which one can you afford? These are just some of the things you have to think about.

And Fashion Forecasting is all about analyzing the world around you and predicting future trends. Which is a HUGE responsibility because what if you say lime green tank tops will be all the rage and no one buys it? You just lost fashion companies tons of money, broke their profit, and now everyone is stuck with shirts nobody wants to buy. And most likely you will be fired.

I think some people don’t realize how much there is to know about the fashion industry and how most of it is business. You have to know the business and understand it to obviously make money off of it. You also have to understand the brand of the company and the message they convey.

Which goes back to branding yourself and what makes you, you?

Life experiences. Self evaluation. Who I want to be versus who I am.

I’m realizing that if I can really experience what I can right now in college, it will only benefit me later. I could possibly be studying abroad in Italy and I would love to learn international business and European fashion.

Because I would be immersing myself in a different culture, different language, different situations. It would be me actually studying and learning versus a vacation.

The world of fashion? It’s a journey that’s always changing, but let’s try to keep up with it.

Love, Zipporah

About Zipporah

My fashion blog. I'm passionate about all things art and soul.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Viaggiare!

  1. Yes! Very well said 👏🏻💕

Leave a Reply

